Skip to content

10,000 Hits Later, Taking My Blog Inwards

23 Jan 2010

Me with a computer, so it looks like I'm blogging. Except I'm not. Also, I need to point out that the make-up bag is not mine. The computer's not even mine. It's not even my place.

I’VE BEEN VERY FORTUNATE TO HAVE THE NUMBER OF READERS THAT I’VE HAD. To those that have actually come to me in person and told me they’ve enjoyed the site: thanks especially, it means a lot. My Top (East) Asian Films of the Decade list received a staggering number of views the first day (though it quickly plummeted back to normal nothingness the days following) and that earned me finally a whopping 10,000 site views since I started 21st Century Boy almost nearly a year ago. Nine months if you consider the giant hiatus I took after its first month. Kevjumba doesn’t stand a chance against me.

OK, so 10,000 isn’t a whole lot, but hey, it’s still nice to know that my thoughts are at least covertly implanting themselves in other people’s brains, and that some of these people, you people, come back for more. So thanks for indulging me. I don’t know jackshit, but you let me play pretend and feel like I do.

Don't ask me. I just google-imaged 'introspection'. Not google.cn, I don't *think*. But that would make sense. No it wouldn't.

BUT, that having been said, I’ve decided to take my blog in a more introspective direction from here on out. Writing mostly about worlds beyond mine just isn’t what I want to do on this particular blog, I realize. No, I want to talk about the one directly around me. I’m just afraid if I keep it up like it is now, I’ll start to feel like I have to entertain. So in the weeks to come, I will be lessening my emphasis on these feature-esque posts. Also expect a redesign here, especially now that I’m considering a move from wordpress.com to squarespace.com. I’m sure you’re riveted by this discussion.

So I still hope I can pique your curiosity with these more homely thoughts, instead of the current blog situation, where I just respond to distant happenings (though to be fair, I think many still hit close to home). 

But if it’s not enough to sustain your wet and naughty desire for my shite writing, I would suggest you keep your eye on SymbiInternational.com. I’ll be taking over the defunct online publication, which I wrote for and helped edit in 2007, and rehauling it — complete with a new name, URL, design, and focus. Imagine the sort of articles I’ve written here, there. On a massive scale.

And I’ll be needing your help. More to come on this later.

The Maedameister himself.

A final note, to return to the personal. I just wrapped up my first day at the 2010 Make A Difference Conference, a three-day event for students and young professionals that features distinguished, all-around-badass speakers like Hong Kong filmmaker Pang Ho-Cheung, Zappos.com CEO Tony Hsieh, creativity consultant Sir Ken Robinson, President of the Rhode Island School of Design John Maeda, and Grameen Foundation founder Alex Counts. It’s a not-too-subtle TED-aspirant, but that’s not a bad thing to want to be. If I have time, I’ll be sure to do the full write-up by the end of the weekend.

Suen out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 2 Feb 2010 6:28 AM

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

