Skip to content

Art Update: Putting a Cigarette in the Character’s Mouth Makes Your Art Immediately Better

18 Jan 2010

It’s unreal how much these past days working on Mike Isley’s album art have helped me dust off my art ability. To cash in on this regained momentum, I quickly scanned in a sketch I did back in November and threw it into Photoshop. So far I’ve been surprising myself with how well it’s turned out. I’m happy. The lesson here, kids, is that practice makes perfect. Sure, it can only take you so far–especially in art–but it counts for a damn lot.

P.S. Smoking is very bad for you.

Like the article? Comment it. Share it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 6 Dec 2010 4:17 AM

    you mad freak! That’s brilliant!

  2. 25 Feb 2010 12:15 AM

    Just killing some in between class time on Stumbleupon and I found your entry. Not typically what I like to learn about, but it was absolutely worth my time. Thanks.

  3. 7 Feb 2010 3:03 PM

    I was scanning something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your position on it is diametrically contradicted to what I read before. I am still pondering over the different points of view, but I’m tipped heavily toward yours. And irrespective, that’s what is so good about modern-day democracy and the marketplace of thoughts on-line.

  4. 24 Jan 2010 4:29 AM

    You’re doing his album cover?! That is beyond rad (yeah I know, my vocabulary extends only so far). Anyway, I’m curious of how it’ll turn out! Varrrr naice.

    P.S. Is that meant to be a sketch of yourself?

    • 25 Jan 2010 3:56 AM

      Not the coverrrr! Jih-E photographed the cover. I’m doing the CD booklet pages. Thanks tho~ Yeah, it’s supposed to be me. Apparently I have a really wide head.

Leave a Reply

